Nurse Jackée

JackeeI wanted to start by giving a shout out to one of my favorite ladies, Jackée, before getting medicinal on y’all.

I admit to not knowing much about Home Nursing. If I do think about it at all, which I can’t say I do, it’s more being curious about homeopathic medicine, but I’ve never done much research on it. What I DO know over the years has involved my mother’s home remedies:

Ear infection? Heat up Canola oil and pour it in the ear.

Sore throat? Gargle with hot salt water.

Loose tooth? Wrap the string around it and yank it out before the person has a chance to do it themselves. [Thanks Mom]

Stomachache? 7up/Ginger Ale and saltines.

Cut? Bandaid.

I stand by a lot of these remedies. I’d say they still apply today. Luckily I haven’t dealt with too many loose teeth or earaches lately.

Mads got some sort of sinus infection/sore throat sickness on the trip back from Antarctica, so I got to put the Home Nurse badge to the test. We went to a Ralph’s to try and choose what cold remedy to give him. I said ‘let’s try Cold-Eeze. It’s full of Zinc, and my mom said it’s the best one. And anyway it’s not an exact science.’ Mads told me I don’t get bonus points for my bedside manor. Shall we begin?

IMG_1582

1.) Know how to select a room for the care of a sick person, and select one in your own home. Draw a plan showing its exposure, doors and windows, the way you would arrange lights and furniture, and equipment you would change or add. Demonstrate care of the sick room and behavior of the person in charge.

As there aren’t any actual rooms in our loft apartment, I chose the bedroom, which is upstairs. I drew a plan of what it looks like, along with additions of extra pillows, hospital corners, tray table, and lighting.

IMG_1606

I’ve taken care of the room by keeping it clean, constantly filling up the water glass, and making sure the patient has what he needs. My behavior has been one of courtesy and quiet, so the patient can rest. I’ve also completed 3.) Demonstrate arrangement, placement and care of the following: a bedside table, a medicine tray, a tray for a meal and 5.) Show how to make a bed ‘hospital style’ and try this method on your own bed. Make or improvise a back rest. Show how to keep a sick person comfortable in bed when lying flat and when sitting up.

Below is my patient log. Like I said, it’s not an exact science (ha):

IMG_1587

Cat-Approved Hospital Corners

IMG_1581

Filled Patient’s Belly with Ris A La Mande [Rice Porridge]

IMG_1594

Supplies soon to be organized on a tray

IMG_1591

Incorrect way to prop up a patient. Bad angle.

IMG_1592

Correct Angle! Vertical Pillow Layering.

IMG_1597

Plied Patient with Tea [Peppermint, Rose Hips/Petals]

IMG_1590

Patient Napping

IMG_1600

Patient Wakes Up. Plied with Multivitamins.

IMG_1599

Multivitamins Make Patient Nauseous on Semi-Empty Stomach (oops). Given Rye Bread with Karrysalat.

IMG_1598

Patient Back To Sleep with Tray of Supplies Nearby

I included the following supplies on the patient’s bedside tray, fulfilling 4.) Show that you know how to care for a mild infection, such as a cold, (a) when you are sick yourself and (b) when caring for another person. Know precautions to be observed, and the why the patient should be in a room alone, have no visitors, and use special dishes. List equipment and supplies to collect or make for use of the patient. This also applies for 6.) Know what precautions are needed when someone in the home has a communicable disease.

It’s a bit tough to keep the patient confined to a room alone since there aren’t any doors in our apartment, but he did use special dishes. And as for when I’m personally sick (which I probably will be soon), I’m actually really bad at taking care of a cold myself. I just sleep a lot and wait for it to pass. I don’t even take Vitamin C, Emergen-C, or anything special. I suppose I should.

Here’s a list of equipment I used:

– Sleep mask because we don’t have any curtains and it was daylight

– Advil in case of sinus headache

– Cold-Eeze, Tylenol Sinus, other medications

– Cup of tea

– Toilet paper for patient’s stuffy nose

– Chapstick

The next day patient was still feeling ill, so I spent about an hour making a walloping juice. Man, I love beets from Whole Foods.

IMG_1602

Carrot, Celery, Beet, Apple, Lemon, Ginger

IMG_1605

POWER JUICE

IMG_1603

Patient Drinking Juice

9.) Make a list of safe and interesting things for the entertainment of someone recovering from an illness. Here is a list of things that have entertained the patient during illness:

– Magazine: Entertainment Weekly

– iPhone/YouTube Videos

– Films: Blackfish, Dances With Wolves, Rain Main, Identity Theft, 1/2 of War of the Worlds (2005)

7.) Know the foods commonly included in liquid, soft and solid diets.

I think juice and broth is good for a liquid diet. For a soft diet I might do pudding, oatmeal, or in this case, Ris A La Mande. Solid diet, I feel like pizza is a good choice for someone who’s sick and doesn’t have any crazy stomach issues. Pizza is good stay-under-the-blankets-and-watch-movies-being-sick-food. Feel free to contest, but I think it’s a good one.

I have three more requirements to meet, but this is what I’ve got for now. I will keep everyone posted on the patient’s condition.

In the meantime, here’s a fitness tip from Jackée if anyone ever asks how the weightlifting is going:

One comment

  1. […] know you’ve all been on the edge of your seat wondering how my patient has been […]

Leave a Reply

